China Great Wall : Where you find yourself so tiny

We visited Great Wall on the second day in Beijing. Feeling excited. I agreed everyone would treasure this day including me, because we were scheduled to visit Great Wall and Forbidden City or what now known as Summer Palace. Those places are the most well-known tourism objects in Beijing. As I knew when I was child, there are 7 wonders in the world, and one of them is China Great Wall. For me, if you don’t have much time to travel all around China, you just have to visit one place : what is that ? Yess, Great Wall or Tembok besar in Bahasa. I think that will be enough to represent China. By hiking the Wall you can enjoy the beautiful mountainous views of Beijing, It is very very beautiful.

100_3994 100_4002 100_4011

Here are little history about Great Wall. The Wall winds up and down across deserts, grasslands, mountains and plateaus, stretching approximately 8,851.8 kilometers (5,500 miles) from east to west of China, but other say shorter. Chinese Name for Great Wall of China 长城/万里长城 (Cháng Chéng/Wàn Lǐ Cháng Chéng).It was constructed 2,000 years from the Warring States Period (476 BC – 221 BC) to Ming Dynasty (1368-1644). The Great Wall was originally built in the Spring and Autumn, and Warring States Periods as a defensive fortification by the three states: Yan, Zhao and Qin. It went through constant extensions and repairs in later dynasties. It began as independent walls for different states when it was first built, and did not become the “Great” wall until the Qin Dynasty. Emperor Qin Shihuang succeeded in his effort to have the walls joined together to fend off the invasions from the Huns in the north. Since then, the Wall has served as a monument of the Chinese nation throughout history.

Unfortunately, we did not have much time when visiting Great Wall, only about one hours so please do not imagine I hiked from start to end of the great wall, hehehe. We left our Hotel at 8 AM and then we arrived at 9.15 at Badaling Great Wall, Beijing. Some said, Badaling Great Wall is the most popular and the most visited spot of Great Wall may because it close to the center of Beijing city. There are 8 sections of Great Wall around Beijing which legally open to tourist home and abroad : Juyongguan, Mutianyu, Jiankou, Shixiagan, Jinshanliang, Gubeikou, Huanghuacheng, and Simatai section. I do not know much about others sections. Well, as we knew we did not have much time, I am sure no one will waste this short time. The most important thing we should make this moments last long or as a prove that we have visited this wonder, you know what I mean ? Hahaha. Pictures or Photos. Take photos as many as you can.

The day of our visit was still in the middle of summer and weekend as well, it was Sunday. There were many visitors either from domestic or foreign like us, but not too crowded I think. They could be simply recognized from their faces and languages. Apparently the temperature is quite hot there but it was not a big deal for people from tropic region like Indonesia, like us. We all are excited all the time there. Standing on the Wall, breathe the fresh morning air at 9, turn around at your point and see the green mountain beside you and then I closed my eyes. It seemed I was alone all the way there. The world stops for 5 seconds for me, haha. As I open my eyes and “get myself back to this world”, everyone seemed to walked through other visitors heading to the watch tower. The way to the tower is pretty dangerous especially steps without handling on metal handrails.  

Back to the topic, I was amazed when visited Borobudur temple in Central Java and the similar feeling popped up when hiking great wall. With recent technology, man can easily create something greater than those wonders but I still can’t imagine how people in ancient time built such those wonders. One hour was really short time for us to enjoy this “outdoor museum”. We hiked on to reach the first and the last watchtower because no time for the next one. At 10.30 AM we must left this wonder and heading to Summer Palace. Before leaving for the next stop, I decided to take a photo using Chinese armour. Wow, 60 Yuan for one photo. It was expensive but really worth it. Finally, I also bought a “great wall hat” 5 Yuan and that get on the bus. Oho, what a short visit. I really love this place and I hope one day I can come back for 2 days hiking plus camping on great wall, hihihi. Hmm, seem more challenging isn’t it ?

 

3 comments

Leave a Comment

